Adobe CC (Creative Cloud) Basic FAQs

Below are some basic Frequently Asked Questions for the Adobe Creative Cloud (CC) application.

Basics

Where can I find information on new features in Creative Cloud?

You can learn all about the latest features in Creative Cloud on the overview page. To find out what’s in the latest version of each CC desktop app, check out each product’s page on Adobe.com.

Do I need to be online to access my desktop apps?

No, the desktop applications in Creative Cloud, such as Photoshop and Illustrator, are installed directly on your computer. So, you don’t need an ongoing Internet connection to use them.

An Internet connection is required the first time you install and license your apps. But, you can use the apps in offline mode with a valid software license. The desktop apps attempt to validate your software licenses every 30 days.

Annual members can use the apps for up to 99 days in offline mode. Month-to-month members can use the software for up to 30 days in offline mode.

How do I access the applications in Creative Cloud?

The applications are installed and run on your desktop, just like any other desktop application. The first time you download any of the individual creative apps, you automatically download Creative Cloud for your desktop. You use the Creative Cloud desktop app to access, download, and update any of the individual creative applications.

What is Adobe CreativeSync?

CreativeSync is the underlying technology in Creative Cloud that intelligently syncs your assets, fonts, photos, settings, Adobe Stock assets, and more. These items instantly appear in your workflow wherever you need them and in the right format. With CreativeSync, available exclusively in Creative Cloud, everything you need is always at your fingertips as you move from app to app or device to desktop.

Can I send files to people who don’t have a Creative Cloud membership? Will they be able to view or share the files?

Yes, you can share files you create with Creative Cloud apps like any other file through email, FTP, and so on.

Also, Creative Cloud sharing features let you share files with anyone by letting them view files in a browser. Viewers can turn layers on and off, see relevant metadata, comment, and even download files for editing.

You can manage file sharing settings on your Creative Cloud Files page.

As a Creative Cloud member, am I required to install an upgrade to a desktop application when it becomes available?

No, you can continue using your current version of the product as long as you have an active membership.

I currently have a previous, perpetual-licensed Adobe Creative Suite product edition on my computer. Can I use both my Creative Suite products and the Creative Cloud applications on my computer?

Yes. Your existing Creative Suite product installation is not affected by installing the CC product applications. For example, you can install and use the perpetually licensed Photoshop CS6 on the same computer as Photoshop CC.

What happens to my benefits if I decide to stop my membership?

You continue to have access to Creative Cloud member free benefits. And, if you saved your work to your computer, you continue to have access to those files on your own device. You no longer have access to the Creative Cloud desktop applications or most of the services that are components of a Creative Cloud membership. And, your allowed cloud storage is reduced to 2 GB.

Can I use the software I download from Creative Cloud on more than one machine?

Yes. You can download and install Creative Cloud desktop applications on multiple computers, regardless of operating system. However, activation is limited to two machines per individual associated with the membership. 

See the terms of use for more information. Learn how to deactivate a Creative Cloud license on a machine.

Where can I find the terms and conditions for a Creative Cloud membership?

Your access to Creative Cloud is governed by the terms of use. You can also access your subscription terms here. 

Where can I get more information on managing my account?

Find out how to change your account information; update credit card details; or upgrade, renew, or cancel your membership here.

Why is Adobe asking me to share information on how I use the Creative Cloud desktop apps?

With Creative Cloud, you have the option of sharing information with Adobe about how you use the CC desktop apps. This information lets us give you a more personalized experience, and helps us improve the quality and features of products. This option is turned on by default and the information is associated with your Creative Cloud account. You can change your preference at any time on your Adobe Account Management page.

Can I choose not to share information about how I use the Creative Cloud desktop apps?

Yes. You can choose not to share information about how you use the Creative Cloud desktop apps by setting your preferences on your Account Management page.

This setting applies to how you use the features within desktop apps, not to the services these desktop apps use, such as Behance or Typekit. These services are governed by their respective privacy policies and/or the Adobe Privacy Policy.

What information is shared and how does Adobe use it?

You can share the following types of information about how you use the Creative Cloud desktop apps:

  • System information, such as operating system, processor, and amount of memory installed
  • Adobe product information, such as version number
  • Adobe feature usage information, such as menu options or buttons selected

This information is associated with your Adobe ID and can be used to personalize the application experience, provide feature usage data to the product teams to help improve the product, and to communicate with you.

Your content, and information about the content within your files, is not shared with Adobe.

You can find an overview of how Adobe may use information associated with you in the Adobe Privacy Center.

What type of personalization is provided in Creative Cloud apps?

Users will see in-app learning content, which over time will provide personalized learning content based on how the application is used.

As we learn more about how the personalized learning content is used, we plan to expand the functionality to other Creative Cloud applications.

What options do Creative Cloud for teams, Creative Cloud for enterprise, and Creative Cloud for education members have for sharing information about how they use the Creative Cloud desktop applications?

If administrators install applications via Creative Cloud Packager using Enterprise IDs, the ability to share information with Adobe about using Creative Cloud desktop applications is disabled for members of the following: Creative Cloud for teams, Creative Cloud for enterprise, and Creative Cloud for education. It cannot be enabled.

However, if administrators let users install Creative Cloud applications via the Creative Cloud for desktop app using an Adobe ID, users can share information about how they use the applications. Users can change these preferences at any time by visiting their Account Management page.




Keywords:CC, Creative, Creative Cloud, Adobe FAQ, Adobe, new features CC, access CC, creativesync,   Doc ID:73887
Owner:Help Desk K.Group:UW-Milwaukee Help Desk
Created:2017-06-07 13:47 CSTUpdated:2017-08-14 11:12 CST
Sites:UW-Milwaukee Help Desk
Feedback:  0   0