Office 365 (Outlook on the web) - Working with mail folders

By default, messages that are sent to you are stored in your Inbox. But you can organize your messages into a hierarchical folder system and adjust it as your needs change.

Folders in Outlook on the web



Default folders

Your account starts with these default folders:

You may see other folders that have been created by your administrator.

Top of Page

Right-click menu for folders

Most of what you can do with a folder will be found in the right-click menu. Actions you can take include:

Top of Page

Creating folders

You can create additional folders to organize your messages any way you want. For example, you can create a folder for a specific project, or for all messages sent by a particular person, or all messages sent to a distribution group that you're a member of.

To create a new folder, right-click the parent folder you want to create the new folder in. If you want a top-level folder (a folder at the same level as your Inbox), you would use your mailbox as the parent folder.

To create a folder:

  1. Right-click on your account.
  2. Click create new folder.
  3. Type the name you want to use for this folder.
  4. Press Enter or click away.

Important Note: It is recommended you not create sub-folders under your Inbox.

Top of Page

Moving folders

There are two ways to move a folder.

Top of Page

Important considerations when managing folders/emails

The Deleted Items folder

When you delete a message, it's first moved to the Deleted Items folder. You can either let messages stay there, or you can set Outlook on the web to automatically empty your Deleted Items folder when you sign out. Your administrator may have set up a policy to empty items from your Deleted Items folder after they've been there for a preset number of days. For example, there may be a policy that removes anything that's been in your Deleted Items folder for 30 days.

Recover deleted items

If your administrator has enabled the recover deleted items feature, you can use it to recover items that have been deleted from your Deleted Items folder. How long items will be recoverable depends on settings that are controlled by your administrator.

  1. Right-click Deleted Items.
  2. Click Recover deleted items.
  3. Right-click the item you want and then click Recover. The item will be moved to its default location. Messages will go to your Inbox, calendar items will go to your Calendar, contacts to your Contacts folder, and tasks to your Tasks folder.

You can also select Purge to permanently delete an item. If you purge an item, you won't be able to use Recover deleted items to get it back. Purging a message won't remove it from any backups that were made before you purged it.

Top of Page

Favorites

It's not unusual to end up with so many folders that it can be hard to keep track of the folders that are most important to you. To make it easier to keep track of those folders, you can add them to your Favorites. Favorites don't appear in your folder list until you've added at least one folder to Favorites. Adding a folder to Favorites doesn't move the folder, but creates a link to it.

Top of Page

What else do I need to know?

Top of Page