How do I manage Collaborate Ultra recordings copied to my personal My Media account?

This article provides instructors with information on how to manage Collaborate Ultra recordings copied to personal My Media accounts.


Useful information: 

University of Wisconsin System adopted a new media management process as a cost saving measure in response to the dramatic increases Collaborate Ultra (CU) recordings created due to COVID-19 social distancing requirements.
  • Any synchronous session recording made in Collaborate Ultra will automatically be copied to My Media, which is the video distribution tool integrated with Canvas, within 24 hours.
  • All synchronous session recordings made in Collaborate Ultra will automatically be deleted from the Blackboard servers 45 days after the recording is created.
If a Collaborate Ultra session was recorded in any Canvas course site in which you are enrolled as a Teacher, copies of these recording are visible in your personal My Media account. This includes recordings that were made by you or by other instructors in the course site. 

The CU recordings from each Canvas course site are copied into a Kaltura “group" account. As a Teacher in the course, you were added to this group, which is why you can see the videos in your personal My Media account. Any other instructor enrolled as a Teacher in the Canvas course site have also been added to the Kaltura "group" account.

Special considerations when CU recording sessions:

Unlike Collaborate Ultra recordings that are viewed through the "Collaborate Ultra" tab in the Canvas course, CU recordings that have been copied to My Media will no longer display a record of the chat messages that occurred during the session.

To address this change, instructors are encouraged to verbally repeat any questions asked in the chat area when responding. This strategy will provide necessary context for student viewing the recorded sessions, and provide assistance for students, during the session, who may not be able to read the visual chat messages.

Covered in this article:



How do I filter out CU recordings in my personal My Media account?

The following steps will filter out any Collaborate Ultra recordings that are visible in your personal My Media account, leaving only videos that you "own" (you uploaded directly) visible in your library.

Step #1

screenshot

Login to Canvas
    1. Click Account in the global navigation on the left. 
    2. Select My Media.

Step #2

screenshot

    1. Click the Filter button.
    2. Click the check box in front of Media I Own.

How do I remove CU recordings from my personal My Media account?

The following steps will demonstrate how to remove yourself from the Kaltura group account associated with the Canvas course site using the "Course Media" tool. 

Step #1

screenshot

Login to Canvas
    1. If you know which course site was used to make the original CU recording, navigate to this course site. SKIP TO STEP #5

Locate the correct Canvas course site (Optional) - Step #2

screenshot

If you DO NOT know which course site was used to make the original CU recording, you can locate the Canvas course ID in My Media and use this to locate the course. 
    1. Click Account in the global navigation on the left. 
    2. Select My Media.

Locate the correct Canvas course site (Optional) - Step #3

screenshot

All CU recordings are labeled with Kaltura group account "tags" that follow this naming convention: CourseMedia-G-[InstanceID]-[CourseID]. The six-digit number at the end of the tag is a unique identifier for the Canvas course site in which the original BCU recording was created.
    1. Locate one of the CU recording videos and copy the six-digit course ID number located at the end of the Kaltura group account tag.

Locate the correct Canvas course site (Optional) - Step #4

screenshot

The course ID is a six-digit number that is a unique identifier for a specific Canvas course site. Each of your Canvas course sites will have a different six-digit number. If you have this number, you can paste it into the browser's address bar to easily access the course site.

Navigate to the Home area of any Canvas course site. 
    1. Replace the last six-digit number for this course site with the six-digit number you copied in Step #3. This new URL will take you to the Canvas course site.


Step #5

screenshot

    1. From the "Home" area of the site, click on Course Media Settings, located in the right-hand navigation.

Step #6

screenshot

    1. Under the Course Media Settings, click the Do not include group/course media in Kaltura My Media checkbox. 
This setting will remove you from the Kaltura group account, and within 24 hours, you will no longer see the CU recordings in your personal My Media library.

Please note that this setting DOES NOT:
    • Remove the CU recordings from the personal My Media accounts for other Teachers in the course. Each user must make this setting change individually.
    • Remove the recordings displayed in the "Course Media" tool located in the right-hand navigation on the "Home" area of the course site.

How do I prevent CU recordings from being copied to my personal My Media account?

The following steps will demonstrate how to prevent CU recording from being copied to the Kaltura group account associated with the Canvas course site using the "Course Media Settings" tool.

Follow Step #1 through Step #5 in the How do I remove CU recordings from my personal My Media account? tutorial above.


Step #6

screenshot

To prevent the automatic coping of new CU recordings to My Media:
    1. Click the "Do not copy Blackboard Collaborate recordings to Kaltura Course Media” checkbox.

Important considerations

    • Unlike the "Do not include..." setting above, this setting applies to an entire course, rather than individual users. 
    • Please consult with any co-instructors before checking or unchecking this setting. 
    • When this checkbox is select NO CU recordings will be copied to the My Media accounts for ANY user. 
    • All CU recordings will be deleted from the Blackboard servers after 45 days, regardless of this setting status.

How do I delete the CU recordings from all My Media accounts?

The following steps will demonstrate how to delete a CU recording from your personal My Media account, and the Kaltura group account (including all other Teachers in the course), using the "Course Media" tool.

Follow Step #1 through Step #4 in the How do I remove CU recordings from my personal My Media account? tutorial above.


Step #5

screenshot

  1. From the "Home" area of the site, click on Course Media, located in the right-hand navigation.

Step #6

screenshot

  1. Locate the CU recording video that you’d like to delete and click the Delete button, (looks like a garbage can). 

Step #7

screenshot

  1. You'll receive a warning that the "action is irreversible and deleted items are unrecoverable. Considering the information in the "Important Considerations" section below, if you are confident that you want to delete the video, click the Delete button.

Important considerations

    • This will delete the video from the Kaltura servers and no other Teachers in the course will have access. 
    • Please consult with any co-instructors before deleting CU recordings from Course Media. 
    • Once deleted from Course Media, and 45 days after the original recording was made -- when deleted from the Blackboard servers, there will be NO ACCESS to this recording.

What if I do not want to save the CU recordings in My Media or in Collaborate Ultra?

If you are testing Collaborate Ultra and/or do not want to save the recordings in My Media or in Collaborate Ultra, you can disable the recording's "Allow public access" settings. This will prevent the recording from being copied to My Media and in 45 days the recording will automatically be deleted from the Collaborate Ultra servers.

Step #1

screenshot

Login to Canvas and navigate to this course site in which the CU recording was made.
    1. Click the Collaborate Ultra tab in the Course Navigation.
    2. Click the Menu button (looks like three horizontal lines).
    3. Click the Recordings tab.

Step #2

screenshot

    1. Click the Recording Options button (looks like three horizontal dots).
    2. Click the Recording settings option.

Step #3

screenshot

    1. UNCHECK the Allow public access checkbox.
    2. Click the Save button.







Keywords:Blackboard Collaborate Ultra recordings personal My Media account filter out CU recordings remove CU recordings prevent CU recordings from being copied save CU recordings find recordings retrieve   Doc ID:108681
Owner:Amy M.Group:UW-Milwaukee Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Created:2021-01-28 16:21 CSTUpdated:2021-02-03 17:02 CST
Sites:UW-Milwaukee Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Feedback:  0   0