How do I find Blackboard Collaborate recordings automatically copied to My Media?

This tutorial will describe how instructors can locate Collaborate Ultra recordings made in a specific course site. This tutorial also provides procedures for retrieving Collaborate Ultra recordings not copied to My Media and deleted from Collaborate Ultra servers.

Useful information: 

University of Wisconsin System adopted a new media management process as a cost saving measure in response to the dramatic increases Collaborate Ultra (CU) recordings created due to COVID-19 social distancing requirements.
  • Any synchronous session recording made in Collaborate Ultra will automatically be copied to My Media, which is the video distribution tool integrated with Canvas, within 24 hours.
  • All synchronous session recordings made in Collaborate Ultra will automatically be deleted from the Collaborate Ultra servers 45 days after the recording is created.

To locate Collaborate Ultra recordings made in a specific course site, follow the steps below:

Step #1

screenshot

Login to Canvas

Navigate to the Canvas course site in which the CU recordings were originally made. Please note that this may may be a course offered in the past and may not be the current course site in which you plan to embed the videos. 

In the browser web address bar, locate the six-digit number within the letter/number series. This six-digit number is the unique identifier for your Canvas course site. Each of your Canvas course sites will have a different six-digit number.
  1. Highlight the six-digit number and copy it to your computer's clipboard.

Step #2

screenshot
  1. Click Account in the global navigation on the left. 
  2. Select My Media.

Step #3

screnshot

  1. In the "Search My Media" field, type the word "tag:" and then paste the six-digit number that you copied in Step #1.
  2. The results of this search will display the CU recordings that were created in this specific course and were automatically copied into My Media.
Please note that each CU recording will display the date of the original session, making it easier to locate the desired video.

Next Steps:

To provide long-term access to CU recordings, instructors can:
  • Add individual CU recordings to a page in their Canvas course site. After 24 hours, CU recordings are automatically copied to My Media. Instructors can use this tutorial to embed My Media videos into a Canvas course site.
  • Add multiple CU recordings to the Media Gallery tool in their Canvas course site using this tutorial.

What do I do if I can’t find CU recordings made in past semesters?

Users can recover a Collaborate Ultra recording deleted from Collaborate Ultra's servers by submitting a ticket to Blackboard Collaborate Support within 30 days of the deletion. For more information, see the Recovering Deleted Recordings guide.




Keywords:Blackboard Collaborate recordings Canvas course site long-term access retrieving copied My Media deleted Blackboard servers University of Wisconsin System media management process   Doc ID:108672
Owner:Amy M.Group:UW-Milwaukee Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Created:2021-01-28 13:52 CSTUpdated:2021-01-29 15:55 CST
Sites:UW-Milwaukee Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Feedback:  0   0